Hey there!

My name is Kristen, and I really needed a mommy-blog: you know, those blogs that are probably incredibly boring to anyone who isn’t already a mother or expecting to be one soon? I’m planning on boring some random non-parent readers to tears.

Since my beloved husband will be home soon, I’ll just make a quick post about dinner. This is a nice “recipe” (I put quotes because I don’t measure very often, so good luck figuring out portions!) for those days when you really need to cook something balanced, but have next to no energy (oh yeah, I’m also 6 months pregnant.)

Image

Ranch Turkey and Rice with Veggies

Ground turkey (you can substitute any type of ground meat)
Brown rice
Veggies (I used yellow squash and onions tonight, but some good additions might be peas, corn, carrots, chopped green beans… you get the idea)
Ranch dressing
Olive oil

So, all you do is brown the ground meat in a skillet, and put the rest of the ingredients, except the ranch dressing, in a rice cooker. I always make sure to peel the veggies like squash if they are for some reason not organic (happens more often than I’d like). Make sure you don’t forget the olive oil in the rice cooker, because that helps keep the rice from sticking or just melting together in that gross overcooked way.

After you brown the ground meat and stick the rest of the stuff in the rice cooker, you can just neglect the crap out of it. When you’re ready to eat, mix everything together in the skillet and drizzle some ranch dressing over all of it, and mix some more.

Gwenna is my daughter, 22 months old, and she kind of loves it.

Leave a Reply

